India name squad for Women’s series against South Africa

India welcome South Africa for a bilateral series that will include five ODIs and three T20Is with all matches played in Lucknow.

India name squad for Women’s series against South Africa

India have named their squad’s for a Women’s International series against South Africa set to take place in March in Lucknow.

Regular skipper Mithali Raj will lead the ODI unit in a five-match series, while her deputy Harmanpreet Kaur will continue to lead India in T20Is.

India Mithali Raj
India batsman Mithali Raj hits out during the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 match between England and India at The 3aaa County Ground on June 24, 2017 in Derby, England. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Notable absentees

Allrounder Veda Krishnamurthy leads a list of notable absentees that includes Ekta Bisht, Shikha Pandey and Taniya Bhatia.

C. Pratyusha, Yastika Bhatia, Ayushi Soni, Swetha Verma, Monica Patel, and Simran Dil Bahadur earned their maiden India call-ups.

India Women have yet to resume international duty since the suspension of cricket last March. The Proteas got back into international cricket when they welcome Pakistan in January, winning five of the six internationals against the tourists.

The Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana International Stadium will play host to the series.

The touring Proteas will endure a six-day quarantine upon arrival in Lucknow. The trip will be South Africa Women’s first overseas venture since the 2020 T20 World Cup.

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA – JANUARY 23: Laura Wolvaardt of South Africa during the 2nd Womens ODI match between Momentum Proteas and Pakistan Women at Hollywoodbets Kingsmead Stadium on January 23, 2021 in Durban, South Africa. (Photo by Darren Stewart/Gallo Images)

India Women squads

India Women’s squad for ODI series: Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), D. Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Swetha Verma (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C. Prathyusha, Monica Patel.

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Nuzhat Parveen (wicket-keeper), Ayushi Soni, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, C. Prathyusha, Simran Dil Bahadur.

India women in South Africa full schedule

ODI series

1st ODI on 7 March 

2nd ODI on 9 March

3rd ODI on 12 March

4th ODI on 14 March

5th ODI on 17 March

T20I series

1st T20I on 20 March

2nd T20I on 21 March

3rd T20I on 23 March

Source : The South African More